53 local authorities receive funding through Brownfield Release Fund

A total of 53 councils have been allocated a share of £58m to bring forward disused and derelict brownfield sites for development.

The Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities (LUHC) today revealed the first allocations through its £75m Brownfield Release Fund (see table below).

The fund is intended to help local authorities bring forward sites for housing development and for self and custom-build plots. The funding will support the “demolition of unsightly derelict buildings and disused car parks and garages” a LUHC spokesperson said. 

LUHC said an extra 5,600 homes will be built on the sites brought forward through the scheme.

Development on brownfield sites has emerged as a key housing priority for the government, following backbench and voter concern that planning reforms could lead to uncontrolled development on green field sites.

Michael Gove, housing secretary said: “Making the most of previously developed land is a government priority and it will help protect our cherished countryside and green spaces.”

Boris Johnson, speaking at the Conservative Party conference last week said there is a lot of room to build homes for young families, “not on green fields, not just jammed in the south east, but beautiful homes on brownfield sites, in places where homes make sense”.

Local authorityGrant amount (£)
Exeter City Council 5,966,470
Haringey London Borough 3,886,214
Waltham Forest London Borough 3,372,320
City of York Council 2,640,479
Portsmouth City Council 2,563,000
Brighton and Hove City Council 2,497,112
Cornwall County UA 2,450,000
Bracknell Forest Council 2,340,266
Dorset Council (UA) 2,103,255
South Gloucestershire Council 2,020,000
Reading Borough Council 2,000,000
Herefordshire Council 2,000,000
South Tyneside Council 1,850,000
Barnet London Borough 1,780,000
Camden London Borough 1,566,277
Folkestone and Hythe District Council 1,150,000
Torbay Council 1,090,000
North Somerset Council 1,075,000
Worcestershire County Council 985,000
Isle of Wight Council 949,765
Teignbridge District Council 860,474
London Borough of Richmond upon Thames 849,522
Derby City Council 825,000
Stevenage Borough Council 750,000
Isles of Scilly Council 664,250
Durham County UA 626,066
Staffordshire County Council 581,800
Peterborough City Council 550,000
Essex County Council 516,800
Kensington and Chelsea Royal Borough 509,188
Rother District Council 500,000
North Devon District Council 500,000
Wokingham Borough Council 494,000
Oxford City Council 479,440
Eastbourne Borough Council 470,000
Leicester City Council 443,400
Stroud District Council 421,000
Adur District Council 407,000
Lewisham London Borough 385,519
Greenwich London Borough 350,000
Newark and Sherwood District Council 284,000
Eastleigh Borough Council 260,000
Nottingham City Council 222,000
Great Yarmouth Borough Council 207,272
Fenland District Council 200,000
Bristol City Council 199,521
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council 195,000
Wiltshire County UA 178,333
Plymouth City Council 177,500
Broxbourne Borough Council 160,000
Hastings Borough Council 142,000
West Oxfordshire District Council 78,000
Harrogate Borough Council 50,000